Friday 20th November


8:30pm – Conde Duque Contemporary Culture Centre
Price: €15

The Resistencia Jazz Ensemble is premiering “Ciudad Invisible” (Invisible City), a contemporary work of jazz inspired in its form by classical music, but far removed from preconceived stylistic concepts.

Conceived in response to a commission from the Conde Duque Cultural Centre, “Ciudad invisible” seeks a space in which interpretation and improvisation can find their freest expression. It is dedicated to the artistic scene of Madrid, and, in particular, to all the musicians who keep the city’ s heart beating. A Suite, formally free, that visits the artists who live in our city and frames them in sound spaces.

The point of reference is contemporary jazz, as a style that coexists with other forms of musical expression. Classical music from the 20th century, Latin American folklore or free improvisation are also blended into the end result to endow the score with its multi-faceted, urban, modern character.

Creativity and perpetual transmutation take place in our capital, and in the proposal of the saxophonist and composer Luis Verde, who is the author and director of this ensemble.

Luis Verde – Sax and composition
Jordi Ballarin – Baritone sax & clarinet
Roberto Nieva – Sax
Mauricio Gómez – Tenor sax
Jorge Moreno y Bruno Valle – Trombone
Marcos Collado – Guitar
David Sancho – Piano
Darío Guibert – Double bass
Alberto Brenes – Drums
Javi Martínez – trumpet

Open this map: Address: Conde Duque 9-11